Related Standards

The standards maintained by the Society of American Archivists’ Technical Subcommittee on Encoded Archival Standards (TS-EAS) are XML-schemas based on established models developed by the International Council on Archives (ICA). Encoded Archival Description (EAD) is based on the General International Standard Archival Description (ISAD(G)), while Encoded Archival Context for Corporate Bodies, Persons, and Families (EAC-CPF) is based on the International Standard Archival Authority Record for Corporate Bodies, Persons and Families (ISAAR-CPF).

The new released update of EAC-CPF version 2.0 is based upon ISAAR-CPF. Some considerations in the development of the new version of EAC-CPF regarding the Records in Contexts (RiC) have been made. For example, it is now possible to describe other entities besides persons, families and corporate bodies like it is possible in RiC. There have been adaptations of value lists and especially the value list regarding relations to other described entities like authoritative records or a finding aid following the relations possible in RiC.

When the RiC Conceptual Model is finalized and approved by ICA we anticipate that future versions of EAC-CPF and other standards maintained by TS-EAS will take the RiC Conceptual Model into account.

International Standard Archival Authority Record for Corporate Bodies, Persons and Families (ISAAR(CPF))

ISAAR(CPF) is a descriptive standard for descriptions of agent entities (corporate bodies, persons and families) associated with the creation and maintenance of archives. ISAAR(CPF) is maintained by the ICA.

Encoded Archival Description (EAD)

EAD is an XML standard for encoding archival finding aids, maintained by the Technical Subcommittee for Encoded Archival Standards of the Society of American Archivists, in partnership with the Library of Congress.

Encoded Archival Guide (EAG)

EAG is an XML standard for encoding data about archives and related organizations. EAG is maintained by the Archives Portal Europe Foundation and its Working Group on Standards (WGoS). The development of EAG is coordinated in close cooperation with the TS-EAS, which is responsible for EAD and EAC-CPF.

Encoding Standards

The international community of cultural heritage organizations is working on a broad set of diverse standards to meet the challenges of the digital age. Established standards concerning digitization and metadata are maintained by the Library of Congress.

Records in Contexts – Conceptual Model (RiC-CM)

RiC-CM is a high-level conceptual model that focuses on intellectually identifying and describing records, the people that created and use(d) them, and the activities pursued by the people that the records both facilitate and document. RiC-CM is maintained by the ICA.